Career Prospects

ACCA’s Foundations in Accountancy (FIA) is a group of qualifications that will give you a solid understanding of the fundamentals of financial management and reporting and enable you to speak the language of business.

There are no minimum entry requirements for FIA. However, we recommend you start at Level 2 if you have no formal qualifications, especially if it’s been a while since you completed any studies. FIA begins at GCSE level (Level 2), or equivalent, and progresses up to the equivalent of the first year of a bachelor's degree (Level 4).

Apply Now

Duration: Minimum 1 year

Exam Month: Computer Based Exams (CBEs) – throughout the year

Introductory Certificate

  • Recording financial transactions FA1
  • Management Information MA1


Intermediate Certificate

  • Maintaining financial records FA2
  • Managing costs and finance MA2



  • Accountant in business FAB
  • Management accountant FMA
  • Financial accountant FFA